Instagram Feed (do not change this title)

Wednesday, 30 March 2016

Spring Nail Edit

Follow

Spring pastels and lighter shades are definitely one of the things I most look forward to when Spring comes around. It's the time of year that I always give my nail polish collection a clear-out, and it's usually a 'one out - new one in' type of thing. So I decided to put together this post to show you which polishes I'm loving recently, the ones I've worn so far and the shades I can't wait to get on my nails in the weeks to come. 

spring nail polishes
Left to Right:
Topshop 'Wistful', Essie 'Serial Shopper', Barry M 'Freestyle', Topshop 'Worlds End', Champneys (colour unknown)
Share:

Sunday, 28 February 2016

Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream Review

To be honest, I've never tried any Smashbox products before now. I'd heard a lot of amazing reviews about their make-up in general, so I was super excited to be contacted by Smashbox asking if I'd like to receive some of their products to try.. including the Camera Ready BB Cream

smashbox camera ready bb cream review

Share:

Sunday, 7 February 2016

Skin Detox Masks: High End Vs Drugstore

A thorough skin detox is a routine that has become a weekly necessity for me throughout the past few years. By the time the weekend comes, my skin always feels super needy of some attention, even though I double cleanse and gently exfoliate every night. I'm sure at some point I'll do a full skincare routine post, although I feel that I need a whole post to compare these two products; Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask & Sanctuary Spa 5 Minute Thermal Detox Mask

It's only been the past two years or so that I've really gotten into my skincare, as much as I don't like to admit that. I've become so obsessed with my routine that when I hear other people say they don't even cleanse, I want to bury my face in my hands.. and I literally face-palm when somebody says ''I don't take off my make-up at night''. It's beyond me why anybody wouldn't spend even 5 minutes per night to look after their skin, especially when the long-term effects of not taking care of your skin are so drastic!
Share:

Sunday, 31 January 2016

Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette

I can't believe how late I am with discovering the Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette. As far as I'm aware, Too Faced as a brand were not readily available or stocked in UK stores until recently and to be honest, I'd never given their products much thought. Safe to say, that all changed when the Chocolate Bar palettes and the new Bon Bon Palette became some of the most hyped up products on the Internet. It's almost like you're the odd one out if you haven't got a photo of it on your Instagram feed!

too faced chocolate bar palette and shadow insurance primer
Share:

Friday, 30 October 2015

MAC Studio Waterweight Foundation Review


This is the MAC Studio Waterweight Foundation that has been released within the past few months, and everybody in the beauty world has been going crazy over it. 
I haven't been a massive fan of MAC foundations in the past, as they always seemed to break me out or make my face incredibly itchy (I must have been allergic), so I honestly wasn't all that interested when I heard they were bringing out a new formula.
Share:

Wednesday, 21 October 2015

MAC Prep+Prime: My No.1 Must-Have Primer

This one is for the girls (and boys) out there who, like me, have never considered a foundation primer a staple in their make-up routine. Eye primer has always been a must-have in my make-up collection, however I've never really had the same attachment to a base primer...

That was until I'd been kindly given a sample of the MAC Prep+Prime 'Skin' Primer by the super helpful make-up artist at my local MAC counter. He advised me to apply it to my T-zone, as that is where I tend to get oiliest. However, when applying to my nose, I also sweep a little bit down the sides of my nose and onto my cheekbones as this is where my foundation tends to slide throughout the day.

MAC Prep and Prime
Share:

Tuesday, 29 September 2015

Emma Hardie Cleansing Balm Review (Vs. Liz Earle)

I'll start by saying that I've been an avid user of the super popular Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish for near enough two years, and for those two years, it served me well. Recently, though, I had the urge to switch up my skincare routine slightly as I felt as though my skin just wasn't looking the best it could. I'd heard so many beauty gurus and bloggers mention the Emma Hardie Amazing Face Cleansing Balm, and once I heard Caroline Hirons mention it, I purchased it right away.

The one thing I'd never loved about the Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish was the simple fact that it was a cream cleanser. I just don't find these to be as nourishing for my skin as I'd like, as well as the fact that it just doesn't feel any way luxurious on the skin like the Emma Hardie cleansing balm does. I'll admit, in terms of cleansers and skincare products in general, I can be a bit high maintenance, haha.. anyone else? 


When I first received it in the post, the first thing I noticed was how high-end the packaging itself feels and looks, although it may not be the best for travelling if you prefer to travel light. The excitement was all a bit much so I removed my make-up as soon as I could, and fell in love with this product immediately. 
Share:

Sunday, 13 September 2015

Review: Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Mascara

I've always had so much bother in the past trying to find a mascara to meet the needs of my desperately short, straight lashes. Every mascara that I had dried was either, (a) too clumpy, (b) too heavy and didn't hold a curl, or (c) made absolutely no difference in terms of length or volume.

A week or two ago, I'd been doing my usual round at the make-up counters in Debenhams in an attempt to find a high-end mascara that I'd possibly like. I asked several different girls for their opinion and recommendations.. whilst also looking up reviews online. I needed to be convinced that spending £25+ on a mascara would be worth it!
I had my eye on the Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Mascara, and it was Ruth Crilly's review that then persuaded me to part with my £23 and give it a new home, although the fancy packaging definitely made me want it even more. I'm a complete magpie when it comes to shiny make-up packaging.




Share:

Sunday, 12 July 2015

Cocowhite: A Review.. Worth the Hype??


A few weeks ago I had put up a post to share my excitement after I'd received Cocowhite: Oil Pulling for Whiter Teeth in the post. I thought I'd be mad not to give it a go after seeing loads of amazing results photos on instagram.. so it would be fair to say I had high hopes. I'll keep this short and to the point..


I tried my first sachet on the morning I received my parcel, although I wasn't expecting to see a noticable difference until I was about a week or so into it. The first few days had passed and I noticed my teeth had been feeling a lot cleaner in general and for this, I really do like this product.. although I can't justify spending £25 on this product again if I can buy a jar of coconut oil in Tesco for a lot cheaper and get the same results! (The ingredients in Cocowhite are literally; coconut oil and flavouring.. it says that on the packet..)



Having used these sachets for the full 14 days, I cannot see any difference to the colour of my teeth, which is disappointing! So if you're thinking about purchasing this product, my advice would be to try some basic coconut oil because chances are, if you don't see results with basic coconut oil.. you'll most likely not see results with this product!




Have you tried Cocowhite? Were your results any different to mine?


Ciara Rose xox

Here's where you can find me:



Share:
© Ciara-Rose | All rights reserved.
Blogger Template Designed by pipdig